why, hello there!

Leave a comment

December 30, 2012 by Andee

You can call me Andee. I’ll be 28 years old on January 2, and am currently living on the outskirts of Philadelphia with my fiance, three kitties, and a wee corn snake who thinks she can eat everything, especially the kitties. Regardless of the fact that she’s no thicker than my index finger.

E

E, our torti girl.

I graduated from college in 2007 with an undergraduate degree in Environmental Science, and moved here in 2008 for a Master’s Degree in English & Publishing. I worked at a major bookstore from 2007-2011, transferring from a location near my hometown to a PA location close to school. As it happens, I met the man to whom I’m engaged at the PA store. We worked together for a year and a half before moving in together AND working together (that was…hard) and then in August of 2011, he got a new job as a software developer. That following November, I got a new job working for an ever-expanding bank; basically, I’m the one who creates the loan documents that you sign. It’s boring some days, but delightfully challenging most days, and I think my main complaint therein would be that it’s so terribly uncreative.

Which, actually, is one of the two main reasons I’m starting this blog: I’m desperate for some kind of creative outlet that doesn’t cost me an arm, leg, and firstborn child.

R, our little girl.

R, our little girl.

My fiance and I are in the middle of planning our September 2013 wedding, so I imagine a large portion of this blog will be devoted to that. But don’t worry – I’m not the girl who’s been envisioning every little detail of her wedding since the age of four. In fact, until I was 22 and in a long-term relationship, I fluctuated between believing marriage was Not For Me in the spirit of admittedly misguided feminism and having a vague notion of it being a possibility in the VERY distant future.

Lucky for both myself and my fiance, I’ve since reconsidered.

The other reason – perhaps the more important reason – I want to start a blog is because I want a way of holding myself accountable for my actions. I spend so much time on Pinterest and reading other blogs and fantasizing about what it would be like to do those things that I waste what precious time I’ve been given living vicariously through friends and strangers alike, and not just living, period. My goal for 2013 is to change that. I haven’t quite nailed down HOW I’m going to make this change, but figure that’s all part of the journey, and will take it a day at a time.

S, our little boy.

S, our little boy.

I’ve come to realize there are two types of people in this world:

Those who live their lives, and those who watch other people live their lives. I’m frankly sick of being the second type.

SO! Whether it’s a new recipe for dinner, picking up a new craft project, or exploring this city after four years of being here without actually living here, I’m going to stop letting wonderful things happen around me, and instead, seek them out, embrace them, and live them!

Leave a Reply

